Tata College, Chaibasa has 19 departments those offers 27 programs all total. The following is a list of departments:

Science Departments

  • Department of Physics: The department offers both M.Sc. and B.Sc. prgrams in physics.
  • Department of Chemistry: Like the department of physics, the Department of Chemistry also offer PG and UG programs.
  • Department of Botany: The department runs both UG and PG programs with specializations or elective courses
  • Department of Zoology: Both UG and PG programs are offered at the department
  • Department of Mathematics: The Department offers four programs. Those are M.A. and B.A. in Mathematics and M.Sc. and B.Sc in Mathematics
  • Department of Geology: The department only offer undergraduate B.Sc. program in Geology. Popular elective courses offered by the department is Mining.

Arts Departments

The arts departments at Tata College comes under two faculties:

  • Faculty of Social Sciences and
  • Faculty of Humanities

Faculty of Social Sciences

The following departments offer programs in social sciences:

  • Department of Economics
  • Department of Anthropology
  • Department of Political Science
  • Department of History
  • Department of Geography
  • Department of Psychology

Faculty of Humanities

Under the Faculty of Humanities, Tata College has the departments of Philosophy and diverse languages. The departmental profile includes:

  • Department of Philosophy
  • Department of English
  • Department of Hindi
  • Department of Tribal and Regional Languages (TRL) – Ho
  • Department of Urdu
  • Department of Odia
  • Department of Bengali / Bangla