Being a constituent unit of Kolhan University, Tata College at Chaibasa follows the guidelines and regulations communicated by the parent university. However, in few of the cases, the college can work on tentative basis, if there is no communication received from the university. Preparing the Academic Calendar of the college is a case, where we have no direction from the university. Hence, it should be treated as a tentative calendar.

UG and PG Academic Calendar – 2019-20

The academic calendar has the following two parts.

Academic Year – 1st Phase

The calendar is applicable for both UG Semesters I, III, V and PG Semesters I and V.

Classes Begins 2nd July 2019
Mid Semester Internal Evaluations 25th October  to3rd November 2019
Course Completion 30th April December
Theory Examinations 7th January  to 28th January 2020
Project Report/Dissertation Submission 1st to 7th February 2020
Practical Examinations and Project Viva-voce 17thth Mach 2020
Result Declaration 7th  April 2020

Academic Year – 2nd Phase

The calendar is applicable for UG Semesters II, IV, VI and PG Semesters II and IV.

Classes Begins 2nd January 2020
Mid Semester Internal Evaluations 27th February  to3rd March 2020
Course Completion 30th April
Theory Examinations 7th May to 28th May
Project Report/Dissertation Submission 1st to 7th June 2020
Practical Examinations and Project Viva-voce 17thth June 2020
Result Declaration 7th  July 2020

Please coordinate the academic calendar with the holiday calendar and additional activities calendar that is prepared by the college and available on this website.

Holidays Calendar

The Holiday Calendar is in accordance to the List of Holidays of Kolhan Universitry that was communicated by letter no. KU/R/1506/2019 dated : 19/12/19. Please note that the columns III, IV and V are applicable for vocational departments and columns VI, VII and VII are applicable for non-vocational departments of the college. Columns I and II are common to both types of deparments.

I II III IV V VI VII VII
Serials   Days Date –Month No. of Days Days Date- Month No. of Days
JANUARY 2020
1 New year day Wed 01 Jan 01 Wed 01 Jan 01
2 Guru Govind Singh Jayanti Thrus 02 Jan 01 Thrus 02 Jan 01
3 Makar Sankranti & Tusu Parab Wed-Thurs 15-16 Jan 02 Wed-Thurs 15-16 Jan 02
4 Netaji Subhash Jayanti Thurs 23 Jan 01 Thurs 23 Jan 01
5 Basant Panchami Thurs-Fri 30-31 Jan 02 Thurs-Fri 30-31 Jan 02
FEBRUARY  2020
6 Ravidas Jayanti, Mage Parab Mon-Tues 10-11 Feb 02 Mon-Tues 10-11 Feb 02
7 Mahashivratri Fri 21 Feb 01 Fri 21 Feb 01
MARCH /APRIL 2020
8 Holi & Baha Parab, Hazrat Ali B’Day Mon-Sat 9-14 March 06 Mon-Sat 9-14 March 06
9 Sarhul Fri-Sat 27-28 March 02 Fri-Sat 27-28 March 02
10 Ramanavami Thurs 02 April 01 Thurs 02 01
11 Mahavir Jayanti Mon 06 April 01 Mon 06 April 01
12 Sab-E-Barat, Good Friday, Easter Monday, Dr. Baba Bhim Rao Ambedkar Jayanti Thurs-Sat 09-14 April 05 Thurs-Sat 09-14 April 05
MAY-JUNE 2020
13 Budh Purnima Thurs 07 May 01 Thurs 07 May 01
14 Summer Vacation Last Friday of Ramzan, Eid-Ul-Fitra Rath Yatra Thurs-Sat 21 May -20 June 27 Fri 22 May 01
Mon-Tues 25-26 May 02
Tues 23 June 01
15 Hul Diwas Tues 30 June 01 Tues 30 June 01
JULY 2020
16 Heroh Parab Mon 6 July 01 Mon 6 July 01
17 Last Monday of Sawan Mon 27 July 01 Mon 27 July 01
AUGUST/ SEPTEMBER 2020
18 Eid-Ul-Zoha (Bakrid) Sat 01 Aug 01 Sat 01 Aug 01
19 Raksha Bandhan Mon 03 Aug 01 Mon 03 Aug 01
20 Srikrishna Janamastimi Tues-Wed 11-12 Aug 02 Tues-Wed 11-12 Aug 02
21 Independence Day Sat 15 Aug 01 Sat 15 Aug 01
22 Ganesh Chaturdashi Sat            22 Aug 01 Sat            22 Aug 01
23 Karma Puja, Muharram, Anant Chaturdashi Sat-Mon 29-31 Aug 02 Sat-Mon 29-31 Aug 02
24 Jomnama Tues 01 Sep 01 Tues 01 Sep 01
25 Vishwakarma Puja Thurs 17 Sep 01      
OCTOBER / NOVEMBER 2020
26 Gandhi Jayanti Fri 02 Oct 01 Fri 02 Oct 01
27 Chehullum Thurs 08 Oct 01 Thurs 08 Oct 01
28 Mahalaya Fri 16 Oct 01 Fri 16 Oct 01
29 Kalash Asthapna Sat 17 Oct 01 Sat 17 Oct 01
30 Durga Puja, Dhanteras, Dipawali, Eid –E-Miladunabi, Bhaiyaduj, Dawat Puja, Chatt, Gopastmi Mela Mon-Mon 19 Oct-23 Nov 29 Mon-Thurs 19-29 Oct 10
Fri 30 Oct 01
Thurs-Mon 12-23 Nov 10
31 Gurunank Jayanti Mon 30 Nov 01 Mon 30 Nov 01
DECEMBER 2020
32 Cristmas Holidays & Vacation Wed-Thurs 23-31 Dec 08 Wed-Thurs 23-31 Dec 08
Total Holidays 107   77

Activity Calendar

SL No Date Name of Event
1 12 Jan National youth Day (Birth Day of Swami Vivekananda )
2 23 Jan Netaji Subhash Chandra  Bose ‘s birth anniversary
3 26 Jan Republic Day 
4 04 Feb World Cancer Day
5 20 Feb World day of Social Justice
6 21 Feb International Mother Language Day
7 08 Mar International Women ‘s Day
8 15 Mar World Consumer Rights Day
9 22 Mar World  Water Day
10 24 Mar World Tuberculosis (TB) Day
11 07 Apr World Health Day
12 22 Apr World Earth Day
13 18 May World Aids Vaccine
14 31 May  Anti –Tobacco Day
15 05 Jun World Environment Day
16 21 Jun International Yoga Day 
17 11 Jul World Population Day
18 28 Jul World Hepatitis  Day
19 09 Aug Quit India Movement Day
20 12Aug International Youth Day
21 15 Aug Independence Day
22 26 Aug Women’s Equates Day 
23 29 Aug National Sports Day
24 08 Sept International Literacy Day
25 16 Sept World Ozone Day
26 02 Oct Gandhi Jayanti
27 14 Nov World Diabetes Day
28 01 Dec World  Aids Day
29 10 Dec Human Rights Day
30 24 Dec National Consumer Rights Day